Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

After their home burns down, fourteen-year-old Nick, his younger brother, and their father move into a ramshackle Victorian house they've inherited. When Nick opens the door to his attic room, he's hit in the head by a toaster. That's just the beginning of his weird experiences with the old junk stored up there. After getting rid of the odd antiques in a garage sale, Nick befriends some local kids - Mitch, Caitlin, and Vincent - and they discover that all of the objects have extraordinary properties. What's more, Nick figures out that the attic is a strange magnetic vortex, which attracts all sorts of trouble. It's as if the attic itself has an intelligence…and a purpose.
Ultimately Nick learns that the genius Nikola Tesla placed the items-his last inventions-in the attic as part of a larger plan that he mathematically predicted. Nick and his new friends must retrieve everything that was sold at the garage sale and keep it safe. But the task is fraught with peril-in addition to the dangers inherent in Tesla's mysterious and powerful creations, a secret society of physicists, the Accelerati, is determined to stop Nick and alter destiny to achieve its own devious ends. It's a lot for a guy to handle, especially when he'd much rather fly under the radar as the new kid in town.
Fans of intrigue, action, humor, and nonstop surprises are guaranteed a read unlike any other in Tesla's Attic, Book One of the Accelerati Trilogy.
©2014 Neal Shusterman and Eric Elfman (P)2014 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Richard S. Swol on 08-03-17

A Fun And Well Done Young Adult Series

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, the series is well written and the story is fun and compelling. It interlaces some historical facts in with it's own science fiction-y sensibilities for an enjoyable read/listen.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Tesla's Attic?

The premise. That a mad genius decades ago left some wondrous (and somewhat dangerous) inventions in an attic that fall into the hands of an average teenager.

Which character – as performed by Vikas Adam – was your favorite?

Nick, the main protagonist. He is well drawn out with an emotional backstory. His characterization seems quiet good.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, the story and performance were both very engaging.

Any additional comments?

I would place this at about the same level as the Rick Riordan books. If those are in your "like" pile, these will probably be as well. One issue I had was that Audible only has the first book of the trilogy available. As far as I can tell, the follow up volumes are strictly read only.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By S. Beard on 06-29-17

where are the SEQUELS?

Would you listen to Tesla's Attic again? Why?

Yes! I started reading YA to my son when homeschooling and even though he is an adult now, I keep coming back. Good clean fun!

Any additional comments?

The Accelerati Trilogy
Tesla's Attic
Edison's Alley (2015)
Hawking's Hallway (2016)

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc