• Smithsonian's Backyard Collection

  • 10-Book Set
  • By: Soundprints
  • Narrated by: Alexi Komisar
  • Length: 1 hr and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 11-20-08
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Soundprints
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (3 ratings)

Regular price: $24.47

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This Backyard Library set teaches children about the amazing animals, insects, and birds that live in backyards all across North America. The audio features read-along narration for ten titles, including Ladybug at Orchard Avenue, Monarch Butterfly of Aster Way, Bumblebee at Apple Tree Lane, River Otter at Autumn Lane, Red Fox at Hickory Lane, Raccoon at Clear Creek Road, Groundhog at Evergreen Road, Firefly at Stonybrook Farm, Canada Goose at Cattail Lane and Alligator at Saw Grass Road. Each title includes a glossary that highlights key plant and animal terms, along with fascinating facts.
©2007 Soundprints; (P)2007 Soundprints
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Randall on 10-21-09

Almost Perfect

I am a HUGE fan of the Smithsonian's Backyard printed books series. The stories about the animals and insects are indepth, informative and the illustrations are excellent.
The book series also came with a companion cassette tape with extremely well done audio production. So, I was expecting "all" the audio from the tape cassettes to be included with the downloaded audio files.

Unfortunately Soundprints chose to leave out the additional information about the animal (after the story) found on the taped version.

In addition these stories all have the page turn sound effect, which is fine if you own the book series, but I do not and honestly didn't expect the page turn sounds to be included on the downloadable versions. It would have been nice had soundprints or audible given me a choice of which version I would have prefered to download.

Other than those two somewhat minor disappointments, the story and production of this series is extremely well done and informational.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc