Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire : Skulduggery Pleasant

  • by Derek Landy
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas
  • Series: Skulduggery Pleasant
  • 6 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Meet Skulduggery Pleasant: ace detective...snappy dresser...razor-tongued wit...crackerjack sorcerer...and walking, talking, fire-throwing well as ally, protector, and mentor of Stephanie Edgley, a very unusual and darkly talented 12-year-old. These two alone must defeat an all-consuming ancient evil.
The end of the world? Over his dead body.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well written, fast paced ... but extremely violent

I really enjoy these type of YA books on my long commute and after listening to the first one I really liked the world, albeit not a very deeply drawn world. The narrator captures the personalities of all the characters extremely well and even pulls off a very good american accent for Saguine.

It is full of action and adventure - but it turns violent quickly and horrifically. The reader is not spared any detail including blood, gore and even death. Now this doesn't bother me as an adult listener but I would caution parents wanting to use this book on a road trip. Unless you have a van load of 12 year old boys - it might be too graphic.

Overall I enjoyed it and would buy the next in the series, but parents be forewarned.
Read full review

- Mark

The Narration Brings Wonderful Fun to this Story

My 12 year old daughter loved reading this series of books so much, she wanted to share them with me. We found the first audio book at the public library, but not the subsequent books. We fell in love with the narrator and the wry humor of these stories. There is some scary stuff in these stories, but the story always keeps moving and the 13 year old heroine confronts her fears and puts her trust in her friends and her growing abilities (a great message for my introverted, bookish daughter). My seven year old loves the story too!
Read full review

- Karen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2008
  • Publisher: HarperAudio