Selections from The Fairy Tales of Hans Christian Andersen

  • by Hans Christian Andersen
  • Narrated by Bobbie Frohman
  • 3 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Traditional and well-loved fairy tales known to many generations of children. The stories include:
"Princess and the Pea" or "The Real Princess," "The Ugly Duckling," "The Emperor's New Suit," "The Fir Tree," "The Happy Family," "The Little Match-seller," "The Little Mermaid," "The Nightingale," "The Pea Blossom," "The Red Shoes," "Thumbelina or Little Tiny," "The Brave Tin Soldier."
Hans Christian Andersen (1805-1875) was a Danish poet, novelist and children's literature legend. Andersen's career as a writer began in the theater. A talent boy soprano, Andersen turned to writing when his voice changed. The first of his published short stories attracted the attention of the King, who then became his sponsor. After success with adult works, Andersen decided to write a series of fairy tales which were initially unpopular in Denmark, but they received enormous attention throughout the rest of Europe, and he published three volumes. Although unlucky in romantic love, Andersen was regarded as a national treasure, and to this day he is loved by millions. In a discussion about the music for his funeral, Andersen said "Most of the people who will walk after me will be children, so make the beat keep time with little steps."


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-24-2013
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks