Regular price: $42.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $42.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From John Flanagan, author of the worldwide best-selling Ranger's Apprentice - an all-new adventure featuring the Brotherband crew and one of our favorite Rangers!
Fresh off of victory over their longtime nemesis, Tursgud, Hal and the Herons, summoned by King Duncan, set sail for Castle Araluen. Thrust into the dangerous world of Araluen, the Herons learn of a threat to Queen Evanlyn and whispers of a deadly sect known as the Scorpion Cult. Rumors say that Iqbal, who previously tried to assassinate Evanlyn at her wedding to Horace, might be planning another attempt. Not waiting to see if the knife will strike true, the Herons join forces with Gilan and his fellow Rangers to track down the would-be assassins.
In this fifth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, old friends re-emerge to take on new enemies as the worlds of Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband join forces! Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2014 John A. Flanagan (P)2014 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Skipper on 03-01-16

Good story, but please respect your readers

Honestly, I do like this series and this book, but this author is becoming annoyingly repetitive, to the point of insult. He always spells out a reference to a past event, as though we cannot remember, or didn't read the prequels, or the original series Ranger's Apprentice (from which this series flows). To me, it feels condescending, and disruptive to the scene.

For example:
During their recent voyage to Socorro, they had blundered into shoal waters... (duh. How could we forget such a major event in book 4? So why stop the dialogue to insert this authorial aside?)

Also, Flanagan reminds us for the nth time that egalitarian Skandians don't address leaders with honorifics (your majesty, your lordship, etc). We are told this several times in this book -- regarding King Duncan and Wakir Selethen -- and numerous times in varied books in both series.

Another example: Flanagan stops the scene to remind readers when Gilan had already met Wakir Selethen. Then he stops another scene to remind us about when Gilan met the Bedouin leader from the Ranger's Apprentice series.

There are more examples, but nuff said.

Other than this, the story is quite engrossing and the writing quality is solid. I appreciate Flanagan's sense of humor, word play (Phillip Pussyfoot), and knowledge of sailing and battle strategy. Of course, the characters and their developing characterization is one of Flanagan's major strengths. The scene between the twins Wulf and Ulf is poignant. The scenes with Ingvar are heartwarming and amusing. Thorn is always a big hit, too.

But ... we never find out what happened to the galley slaves after they carried out their promise. I wanted to see how Selethen treated them.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Sadie on 02-06-18

great as always

very good , I have always love this books, full of laughs and adventure. must have in your collection

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc