Regular price: $18.24

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.
"Every-single-day", she answers. "Papa sang, too."
The Newbery Medal-winning Sarah, Plain and Tall is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late 19th century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?
This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.
This collection includes the first three books in the series: Sarah, Plain and Tall; Skylark; and Caleb's Story.
Supports the Common Core State Standards
Don't miss the next story about life on the Witting family farm. Make More Perfect Than the Moon your next listen.
©1985, 1994, 2001 Patricia MacLachlan (P)2003 HarperCollins Publishers, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Newbery Medal Winner, 1986
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By G. Rokosz on 08-22-05

Missing Skylark, but still excellent

The 4 hours and 22 minutes includes Sarah, Plain and Tall and Caleb's Story, and an interview with the author. But there was no Skylark.

What was there was excellent, both the story and the narration. My six year old and nine year old listened raptly, as did I. I liked that it had a complicated family (mail order bride becomes a step mother), and complicated emotions, painted against a prairie farm back drop. It feels true.

Read More Hide me

22 of 24 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 12-10-11

What matters in the simple life

What made the experience of listening to Sarah, Plain and Tall Audio Collection the most enjoyable?

The feeling of hearing the children as real children, natural, vulnerable and brave enough to love, drew me right in. The slow warm growing of trust, and again, courage to love, and to find new ways of being together, a new family, and each part of it also an integral, developing being. Even the farm!And of course, Glenn Close reading to me. I could trust her voice to carry me through the rich textures with nary a false note. She reads, it feels, from the inside out.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Sarah is my favourite - a role model too. How she sees clearly, thinks for herself, makes courageous decisions for her life and relationships, expresses grief without pretending, and gives each person and creature time to get to know and trust her. She lives, it seemed to me, from a clear inner core of self-knowledge and inner security to risk comfort and love.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The crayons - taking the sea with me...

Read More Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews