Regular price: $18.24

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.
"Every-single-day", she answers. "Papa sang, too."
The Newbery Medal-winning Sarah, Plain and Tall is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late 19th century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?
This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.
This collection includes the first three books in the series: Sarah, Plain and Tall; Skylark; and Caleb's Story.
Supports the Common Core State Standards
©1985, 1994, 2001 Patricia MacLachlan (P)2003 HarperCollins Publishers, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Newbery Medal Winner, 1986
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By G. Rokosz on 08-22-05

Missing Skylark, but still excellent

The 4 hours and 22 minutes includes Sarah, Plain and Tall and Caleb's Story, and an interview with the author. But there was no Skylark.

What was there was excellent, both the story and the narration. My six year old and nine year old listened raptly, as did I. I liked that it had a complicated family (mail order bride becomes a step mother), and complicated emotions, painted against a prairie farm back drop. It feels true.

Read More Hide me

21 of 23 people found this review helpful


By Nancy M on 06-07-17

great story

This is in the vain of Little House on the Prairie but more grown up. There were real emotions shared with the characters

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc