• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 25 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the More Famous Composers collection.
The first volume of Famous Composers, written by Darren Henley and read by Marin Alsop, the American conductor, won a prestigious Audie in the US. Here, Henley and the Naxos AudioBooks team bring the combination of an entertaining but informative "life" and numerous musical selections to a further set of six composers: Handel, Haydn, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Rachmaninov, and contemporary artist Paul Williams.


Audible Editor Reviews

Darren Henley, the director of a UK national radio station, loves classical music. He strives to bring this passion to modern audiences through these short, compelling biographies of great composers. Here, he details the life and work of Sergei Rachmoninov, the face of Romanticism in Russian classical music. Marin Alsop's straightforward performance lets the fascinating stories speak for themselves. Her warm voice proves lighthearted but informative. The production benefits from excerpted music and occasional sound effects. Both of Henley's series, Famous Composers and More Famous Composers, ought to appeal to even casual history or music fans.


What the Critics Say

"The pleasantly voiced Marin Alsop once again acts as musical tour guide, giving historical context and sharing engaging bits of information... while also calling our attention to interesting, illustrative moments in the music. Though clearly designed for children, this engaging audio experience is educational for a wide audience." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks