• by Alice Hoffman
  • Narrated by Jenna Lamia
  • 4 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In her first novel for middle-grade readers, best-selling author Alice Hoffman tells a bewitching story of love and friendship that is truly magical.
Twig lives in Sidwell, where people whisper that fairy tales are real. After all, her town is rumored to hide a monster. And 200 years ago, a witch placed a curse on Twig's family that was meant to last forever. But this summer, everything will change when the red moon rises. It's time to break the spell.


What the Critics Say

"I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical... [Nightbird] is like reentering a wonderful dream that you vaguely remember." (Lois Lowry, two-time Newbery Medal-winning author of The Giver)
"I loved Nightbird. Such a clever mix of fantasy and reality; the fantasy is so persuasively meshed with the story that the reader accepts everything. Alice Hoffman enters brilliantly into the 12-year-old mind and winds her account of a disordered family into the twists and turns of an elegantly crafted narrative in which past and present unite to solve a magically intriguing problem of witches, feathers and owls." (Penelope Lively, winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Booker Prize)
"Jenna Lamia's performance conveys the mystery and beauty in this tale.... Lamia's narration brings out the haunting qualities of the story without becoming frightening, making this a suitable and engaging listening experience for older children." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I love this Alice Hoffman novel!

Loved it! Delightful! Magical! I am an adult, and I enjoyed it so very much!
Read full review


Empowering fairy tale for boys and girls.

A lovely story for children of all ages about families, love and hope. Being different is what we look for in each other. How else can we share life's mysteries?
Read full review

- oftheforest

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-10-2015
  • Publisher: Listening Library