Messenger : Giver Quartet

  • by Lois Lowry
  • Narrated by David Morse
  • Series: Giver Quartet
  • 3 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Six years earlier, Matty had come to Village as a scrappy and devious little boy. Back then, he liked to call himself "the Fiercest of the Fierce." But since that time, Matty has grown almost into a man under the care of Seer, a blind man whose special sight had earned him the name. Now Matty hopes that he will soon be given his true name, and he hopes it will be Messenger. But strange changes are taking place in Village. Once a utopian community that prided itself on its welcome to newcomers, Village will soon be closed to all outsiders. As one of the only people able to safely travel through the dangerous Forest, Matty must deliver the message of Village's closing and try to convince Seer's daughter, Kira, to return with him before it's too late. But Forest has grown hostile to Matty too, and he must risk everything to fight his way through it, armed only with an emerging power he cannot yet explain or understand.


What the Critics Say

"Builds suspense to the last heart-wrenching page." (Booklist)
"Simply and beautifully written..." (The New York Times Book Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lois Lowry is a master storyteller!

This is the second book I've listened to of Lois Lowry's. It's actually a continuation of her book, The Giver, which I've listened to again and again with great pleasure. Lowry's character development is wonderful and her vivid language effortlessly transports me into the world she has created while I work on my artwork. Also, the narrators for both books sound just right, and I'm very particular about narrators!
Read full review

- Johanna

we'll remember this one forever!

We had listened to The Giver and were thrilled to hear more! This book is actually the 3rd of a series of 3. The 2nd book is called Gathering Blue, which I haven't found on Audible.
Read full review

- Kristi Villani

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2004
  • Publisher: Listening Library