Island of Silence : The Unwanteds

  • by Lisa McMann
  • Narrated by James Langton
  • Series: The Unwanteds
  • 7 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The second book in the middle-grade dystopian fantasy series that Kirkus Reviews calls "The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter", by New York Times best-selling author Lisa McMann.
Following the life-altering events at the conclusion of The Unwanteds, the stark world of Quill and the magical haven of ArtimÉ are now home to whoever wants to live there, whether they are Wanteds, Unwanteds, or Necessaries.
In ArtimÉ, Alex Stowe and his friends continue to hone their artistic magical spells while welcoming newcomers, wondering how long this peace between Quill and ArtimÉ will last. Alex is stunned when Mr. Today comes to him with a very special request - one Alex questions his readiness for, until circumstances offer a dramatic answer.
And back in Quill, Aaron Stowe, Alex's twin, faces a very different path. Devastated by his loss of status after Justine's defeat and seething with rage toward Alex, Aaron is stealthily planning his revenge and return to power.
Alex and Aaron's separate stories proceed with suspenseful pacing, colliding in a stunning climax that elevates sibling rivalry to epic proportions and leaves the fates of both worlds hanging in the balance.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


With all the mysteries of book one solved in book one, Lisa McMann had no where to go with this book, so it turned into a long boring conversation book. I listened for almost four hours, but could not stay awake for any more. Instead of a continuation of book one, I think a prequel would have been more interesting.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Excellent Story!

I really liked the story, but I would have liked it better if the narrator from the Unwanteds: Book one was narrating this book as well. This narrator was not quite as good as the last one. Overall it was very good.
Read full review

- Jianfeng Zhang

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-04-2012
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio