Fork-Tongue Charmers : The Luck Uglies

  • by Paul Durham
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • Series: The Luck Uglies
  • 9 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Rye O'Chanter was shocked to discover that her father was the leader of the notorious band of outlaws known as the Luck Uglies. Now she too has been declared a criminal in her own village, and she must flee to the strange and remote Isle of Pest while her father faces off against the Luck Uglies' bitterest rivals, the Fork-Tongue Charmers, on the mainland.
But all bets are off when the battle moves to the shores of Pest. To defeat the Fork-Tongue Charmers, Rye must defy a deranged earl, survive a test meant to judge the grit of the fiercest men, and lead the charge in defending the island against a strangely familiar enemy, which means uncovering some long-buried family secrets. . . .
The first book in the Luck Uglies series was named an ALA Notable Children's Book as well as a New York Public Library Title for Reading and Sharing, and it won the Cybil Award for Middle Grade Speculative Fiction. This second installment ratchets up the humor, charm, and adventure, taking the series to brand-new heights!


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A marvelous tale of adventure !

A great sequel to the Luck Uglies! A wonderful romp. So happy to have found it.
Read full review

- Lesley B Smith

Great story and great series!

The second book in a series can sometimes be hit or miss, but The Fork Tongue Charmers does not disappoint. Imaginative and well-written, this is a story for adults and young readers alike. You'll find yourself immersed in the world of Rye O'Chanter and rooting for this special young heroine, and her friends and family, every step of the way.

As an audiobook this story is also wonderfully narrated and the pages are brought to life.
Highly recommend this listen and that you start with The Luck Uglies, Book 1 if you haven't already. A terrific series. Can't wait for Book 3!
Read full review

- melissa townsend

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-17-2015
  • Publisher: HarperAudio