Favorite Poems for Children

  • by Lewis Carroll, James Reeves, Oliver Herford, Edward Lear, Kenneth Grahame, Hilaire Belloc, William Blake, Thomas Hardy
  • Narrated by Katinka Wolf
  • 1 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dance with a lobster, telephone an elephant, or knock on a moonlit door - this collection includes magical, macabre, dramatic, funny, bizarre, absurd, delightful, moving, and charming poems by Lewis Carroll, A.A. Milne, Edward Lear, Hilaire Belloc, Kenneth Grahame, and many others. Readers such as Anton Lesser, Simon Russell-Beale, and Timothy West bring the lines beautifully to life and make this an ideal introduction to some of the best-loved children's poetry.
The complete list of narrators includes Katinka Wolf, Anton Lesser, Roy McMillan, Richard Wilson, David Timson, Anne Harvey, Simon Russell-Beale, Rachel Bavidge and Timothy West .


Audible Editor Reviews

Children of all ages will enjoy the wide range of poems, authors, and narrators in this spirited collection. There are many works by Edward Lear, including one about himself, which is somewhat negative but quite funny. Accents vary, even Cockney appears occasionally, as in "Framed in a First Story Window." The firemen yell, "Jump into this net what we are holding." "The Pied Piper of Hamlin" is an ideal conclusion, with the performer's vigorous voice. Music is used occasionally, with a rousing march at the close.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A treasure in poetry

Beautifully read with great talent, these poems are presented with more than just the plainspoken word. Children’s poems here are preformed for the listener’s great pleasure with artful theatre in voices of faithfulness to the poem’s spirit.
Read full review

- Terrance Hanna

Childhood favourites

Wonderful to play these poems to my granddaughter and to remember them from my own magical childhood.
Beautifully read with such different actors who obviously enjoy the process.
Read full review

- SusieB

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-28-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks