Farmer Boy : Little House

  • by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Narrated by Cherry Jones
  • Series: Little House
  • 6 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

While Laura Ingalls grows up in a little house on the Western prairie, Almanzo Wilder is living on a big farm in New York State. Here Almanzo and his brother and sisters help with the summer planting and fall harvest. In winter there is wood to be chopped and great slabs of ice to be cut from the river and stored. Time for fun comes when the jolly tin peddler visits or, best of all, when the fair comes to town.
This is Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved story of how her husband, Almanzo, grew up as a farmer boy far from the little house where Laura lived.
Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One For The Boys (and Girls, Too!)

It was a stroke of genius on the part of Laura Ingalls Wilder to include a book about her husband Almanzo's childhood (on a farm in upstate New York, in the mid-1800s) in her Little House collection of childhood memories. This book resonates with a boyish energy and spirit unique among the nine volumes in the series, though it will delight boys and girls alike. This is an essential part of the Little House series and not to be missed. Narrator Cherry Jones does a fine job of differentiating characters while avoiding that tendency common among many other narrators to attempt to do a distinct, separate voice for each character. I find her choice to just mostly read the story "straight" (as one would to an older child) refreshing and very appropriate to this material. Many thanks to Ms. Jones and to Audible for making this timeless American classic series (rivaled in its literary scope and stature only by J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series) available in its entirety. Grade: A
Read full review

- Gretchen SLP

wonderful story

My children enjoyed this book immensely. We recommend it to anyone, especially if you like farm life.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2017
  • Publisher: HarperAudio