Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie

  • by Jordan Sonnenblick
  • Narrated by Joel Johnstone
  • 4 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Thirteen-year-old Steven has a totally normal life (well, almost): He plays drums in the All-Star Jazz Band, has a crush on the hottest girl in school (who doesn’t know he’s alive), frequently finds himself sitting across from his school counselor (who bribes him with candy), and is constantly annoyed by his five-year-old brother, Jeffrey (who is cuter than cute). Oh, Steven has parents, too (the kind that embarrass him). But when Jeffrey gets sick, Steven’s world is turned upside down as he is forced to deal with his brother’s illness, his parents’ attempts to keep the family in one piece, the band, overdue homework, girls, and of course, Dangerous Pie (yes, you have to listen to the book to find out what that is).
In a debut that has won raves, Jordan Sonnenblick digs deep into the heart of a family in crisis with humor, hope, and impressive sensitivity.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Marvelous, wonderful young adult fiction!

Jordan Sonnenblick writes great YA books. The target audience for this one is ages 12 - 13, but adults will like the book. Narration is superb!
Read full review

- Wayne "I love espionage, legal, and detective thrillers but listen to most genres. Very frequent reviews. No plot spoilers! Please excuse my typos!"

Jordan Sonnenblick's Drums,Girls and Dangerous Pie

Where does Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Great narration of story from point of view of 8th grade boy whose younger brother is diagnosied with leukiemia

Who was your favorite character and why?

Steven is a very believable big brother.

What about Joel Johnstone’s performance did you like?

Clear and easy pacing of story from first person narration

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Emotional journey

Read full review

- judy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-20-2011
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio