Bud, Not Buddy

  • by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • Narrated by James Avery
  • 5 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's 1936, in Flint, Michigan. Times may be hard, and 10-year-old Bud may be a motherless boy on the run, but Bud's got a few things going for him. One: He has his own suitcase filled with his own important, secret things. Two: He's the author of Bud Caldwell's Rules and Things for Having a Funner Life and Making a Better Liar Out of Yourself. Three: His momma never told him who his father was, but she left a clue: flyers of Herman E. Calloway and his famous band, the Dusky Devastators of the Depression! Bud's got an idea that those flyers will lead him to his father. Once he decides to hit the road and find this mystery man, nothing can stop him - not hunger, not fear, not vampires, not even Herman E. Calloway himself. Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal winner, is full of laugh-out-loud humor and wonderful characters, hitting the high notes of jazz and sounding the deeper tones of the Great Depression.


What the Critics Say

Newbery Medal Winner, 2000
Audie Award Nominee, Children's Titles for Ages 8+, 2001
"The cast of characters, presented with endless variations in voicing, is authentic and memorable." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Family Audio

My family and I listned to this book on a short road trip. My boys 6 and 9 loved it as did my husband who does not normally listen to audio books. The narration is wonderful. The story telling is sharp and funny. This is a very easy book to enjoy again and again. In fact both my boys have already played it a secound time just for the fun of it. Absolutely 5 stars!
Read full review

- Dionne

Nice Surprise Ending

Any additional comments?

My 10 year old and I listened to this book as we drove from Georgia to New York, and it was a great listen. We both enjoyed it very much. The authors tone was humorous, and the ending was quite a surprise.

Read full review

- Andrea

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-11-2000
  • Publisher: Listening Library