When Hitler Took Cocaine and Lenin Lost His Brain

  • by Giles Milton
  • Narrated by Giles Milton
  • 4 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Obscure and addictive true tales from history told by one of our most entertaining historians, Giles Milton.
This program is read by the author, the host of the popular podcast Unknown History with Giles Milton.
The first installment in Giles Milton's outrageously entertaining series, History's Unknown Chapters: colorful and accessible, intelligent and illuminating, Milton shows his customary historical flair as he delves into the little-known stories from the past.
There's the cook aboard the Titanic who pickled himself with whiskey and survived in the icy seas where most everyone else died. There's the man who survived the atomic bombs in both Hiroshima and Nagasaki. And there are many, many more.
Covering everything from adventure, war, murder, and slavery to espionage, including the stories of the female Robinson Crusoe, Hitler's final hours, Japan's deadly balloon bomb, and the emperor of the United States, these tales deserve to be told.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Quite entertaining

So many interesting little stories from history. Very easy to listen to, the narration is entertaining. A detractor for me was that some of the short stories seem to end abruptly, providing little information aside from a brief summary. You won't gain anything groundbreaking from this book but for entertainment and sparking a little curiosity it's certainly worth a listen.
Read full review

- Michael

Not very compelling

This book was recommended to me by a friend, so I didn't really research it much before delving in. The historical stories I wanted to hear more about (Hitler, Lenin, etc.) were really briefly covered...a lot of the book was just more or less interesting tidbits of history. Usually less, but maybe that's just me. I guess I didn't realize the format of this book before purchasing.
Read full review

- Carrie Gawne

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-02-2016
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio