The War for All the Oceans

  • by Roy Adkins, Lesley Adkins
  • Narrated by Patrick Lawlor
  • 21 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Roy Adkins, with his wife, Lesley, returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleon's seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life: shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war. The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history, sure to appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.

More

What the Critics Say

"Sumptuous storytelling." (Kirkus)
"Vivid....[A] rollicking saga." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Other Story about the Napoleonic Wars

The book covers the Napoleonic Wars from the perspective of the naval battles. It argues that the British blockade of much of Europe was the real reason for the downfall of Napoleon. The blockade gradually put more and more pressure on Napoleon, gradually reducing his options, and inevitably pushing him to make mistakes, which eventually lead to his downfall.

I think that this perspective is perhaps the dominate part of the truth, but still only part of the truth. Still I think it’s an important point, and the author, probably, meant no more than this.

The only fault is that it’s not that gripping a book. The style is a collection of short stories, which seems a good choose for this subject. But the narrative quality of the short stories seemed highly variable. Some were captivating, many were not.

Maps would help!
Read full review

- Kenneth "Old & fat, but strong; American, Chinese, & Indian (sort of); Ph.D. in C.S.; strategy, economics & stability theory; trees & machining."

Good material, horrid narration

If any one thing detracts from the wealth of information in this classic on British naval warfare, it is Patrick Lawlor's amateurish narration. His ludicrously affected British, French, and Scottish accents, mispronunciations and sing-song prose recital should make the authors cringe.
Read full review

- Adm George Anson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-17-2007
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio