The Vanquished

  • by Robert Gerwarth
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In The Vanquished, a highly original and gripping work of history, Robert Gerwarth asks us to think again about the true legacy of the First World War. In large part it was not the fighting on the Western Front that proved so ruinous to Europe's future but the devastating aftermath, as countries on both sides of the original conflict were savaged by revolutions, pogroms, mass expulsions, and further major military clashes. If the war itself had in most places been a struggle mainly between state-backed soldiers, these new conflicts were predominantly perpetrated by civilians and paramilitaries and driven by a murderous sense of injustice projected onto enemies real and imaginary. In the years immediately after the armistice, millions would die across central, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe before the Soviet Union and a series of rickety and exhausted small new states would come into being. It was here, in the ruins of Europe, that extreme ideologies such as fascism would take shape.
As absorbing in its drama as it is unsettling in its analysis, The Vanquished is destined to transform our understanding of not just the First World War but the 20th century as a whole.


What the Critics Say

"Gerwarth's fascinating and finely crafted book is a rich combination of military, political, cultural and social impressive work of highly accessible scholarship." (The Irish Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

little-known period following WWI is illuminated

great, detailed, and thorough book re Eastern and Central Europe and its revolutions and wars
Read full review

- John

Very interesting

I found this book really thought provoking . It lays out the case that world war 1 never really ended and just paused before war broke out once again. The world is still dealing the the effects of this conflict
Read full review

- cbspock

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-15-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio