• The Naughty Nineties

  • The Triumph of the American Libido
  • By: David Friend
  • Narrated by: David Friend
  • Length: 26 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 09-21-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (11 ratings)

Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A sexual history of the 1990s, when the baby boomers took over Washington, Hollywood, and Madison Avenue. A definitive look at the captains of the culture wars - and an indispensable road map for understanding how we got to the Trump Teens.
The Naughty Nineties: The Triumph of the American Libido examines the scandal-strafed decade when our public and private lives began to blur due to the rise of the web, reality television, and the wholesale tabloidization of pop culture.
In this comprehensive and often hilarious time capsule, David Friend combines detailed reporting with first-person accounts from many of the decade's singular personalities, from Anita Hill to Monica Lewinsky, Lorena Bobbitt to Heidi Fleiss, Alan Cumming to Joan Rivers, Jesse Jackson to key members of the Clinton, Dole, and Bush teams.
The Naughty Nineties also uncovers unsung sexual pioneers, from the enterprising sisters who dreamed up the Brazilian bikini wax to the scientists who, quite by accident, discovered Viagra.
©2017 David Friend (P)2017 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A brilliantly researched and uproariously written romp through the sex-fueled Age of Clinton. Nothing is off-limits: Viagra, Brazilian Wax jobs, home-brewed pornography, Fox News, O.J. Simpson, and the birth of reality TV are all expertly grabbed by the scruff-of-the-neck. An instant American Studies classic!" (Douglas Brinkley, presidential historian and author of The Great Deluge)
"Written with wit, zest, and subtlety, this is cultural history at its best. I'd lived through the decade, but not until I'd read The Naughty Nineties did I come to appreciate how boldly, and creepily, those years had foreshadowed the messy and bewildering moment we are in now." (Nathaniel Philbrick, National Book Award-winning author of In the Heart of the Sea)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By dupuytren on 11-27-17

More like a 90s Encyclopaedia<br />

This book is in no way a concise look to the decade which ptobably has changed everything. How me behave, how mr think, how we elect and how we react. From politics to publicity, ranging, including and overlapping with manifold issues as essential to human life and entertainment such as television, fashion industry, cinematography, modern arts and partisan inclination of individuals. The author provides a detailed look to the events of 90s which we probably all either lived through or listened from elder people (in case you are at an age bracket that probably has to get to claim full-fledged adulthood) and the philosophical and sociological perspectives provided let it raise from a banality, a fact from mundane aspects of life or a theory so sophisticated to have been rooted in one of the cornerstones of the Philosophy of Frankfurt School... If you have an urging to broaden your perspective and experience an a-ha moment, this book is the right destination... Narration by the author himself is also impressive and knows very well how to ensnare your probably not-long-enough attention span in a complex web of tails, truths and interpretations...

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews