The Invention of Russia

  • by Arkady Ostrovsky
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The end of Communism and breakup of the Soviet Union was a time of euphoria around the world, but Russia today is violently anti-American and dangerously nationalistic. So how did we go from the promise of those days to the autocratic police state of Putin's new Russia?
The Invention of Russia reaches back to the darkest days of the Cold War to tell the story of the fight for the soul of a nation. With the deep insight only possible for a native son, Arkady Ostrovsky introduces us to the propagandists, oligarchs, and fixers who have set Russia's course since the collapse of the Soviet Union.
The Soviet Union yoked together dreamers and strongmen - those who believed in an egalitarian ideal and those who pushed for an even more powerful state. The new Russia is a cynical operation where perpetual fear and war are fueled by a web of lies. Twenty-five years after the Soviet flag came down over the Kremlin, Russia and America are again heading toward a confrontation, but this course was far from inevitable.
With this riveting account of how we got here - of the many mistakes and false promises - Ostrovsky emerges as Russia's most gifted chronicler.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sad Story of Russia's Abandonment of Liberalism

Takes the story from the collapse of the Soviet Union to the consolidation of Putin's authoritarian rule. Special attention is paid to the role of the Russian media.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A history of journalism in Russia

Be warned that this book is not really about how the Russia we know today emerged out of the Soviet Union as the title implies, but is really a history of journalism and the media in the Soviet Union and Russia. I still found it to be an interesting read, but if you go into it with different expectations you may be disappointed.
Read full review

- Danielle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-20-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio