The Invasion of Europe by the Barbarians

  • by John Bagnell Bury
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • 8 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the last half of the fourth century, the Roman Empire began to feel the stress of renewed pressure on its borders as Germanic and Asian tribes moved westward. As these tribes settled, they began to form alliances and to convert to Christianity.But when these very capable tribesmen began to enlist in the Roman military, the empire began to fall under the control of mercenary soldiers. Men like the gifted Vandal Stilicho became supreme commanders and wielded enormous influence at a very crucial period in Roman history. But though the various German tribes were dangerous, they did not menace the Roman civilization in the same way as the feared Huns, who destroyed everything in their path.In this brilliant history, you will learn why Atilla turned his devouring hordes into Gaul, and how he came within a heartbeat of controlling all of Europe. Discover the truth behind the heroic legends of powerful men like Alaric, Theodoric, and Clovis, and the amazing journeys of tribes like the Visigoths, the Ostrogoths, the Franks, the Vandals, and the Lombards. And as you listen, you will also come to understand the underpinnings of the modern European nation state.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fascinating read, a gold mine of information

This is an excellent overview of the various barbarian peoples that swarmed over Europe as the Roman Empire waned. Want to know who were the Visigoths, the Ostrogoths, the Vandals, the Franks and the Lombards? Eastern Germanic vs Western Germanic tribes? What were the legacies and impact of these groups? This book covers all that and more.
Read full review

- Mario

Great story, needs visuals

This sounds like transcript from a lecture. In a lecture the auditorium would have had slides, white boards and other visual accompaniments. That is truly missing here.
Read full review

- Viviane

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-08-2009
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur