The Holy Roman Empire

  • by James Bryce
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • 12 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Chapter 1: Introductory
Chapter 2: The Roman Empire Before the Invasion of the Barbarians
Chapter 3: The Barbarian Invasions
Chapter 4: Restoration of the Empire in the West
Chapter 5: Empire and Policy of Charles
Chapter 6: Carolingian and Italian Emperors
Chapter 7: Theory of the Medæval Empire
Chapter 8: The Roman Empire and the German Kingdom
Chapter 9: Saxon and Franconian Emperors
Chapter 10: Struggle of the Empire and the Papacy
Chapter 11: The Emperors in Italy: Frederick Barbarossa
Chapter 12: Imperial Titles and Pretensions
Chapter 13: Fall of the Hohenstaufen
Chapter 14: The Germanic Constitution - the Seven Electors
Chapter 15: The Empire as an International Power
Chapter 16: The City of Rome in the Middle Ages
Chapter 17: The Renaissance: Change in the Character of the Empire
Chapter 18: The Reformation and Its Effects upon the Empire
Chapter 19: The Peace of Westphalia: Last Stage in the Decline of the Empire
Chapter 20: Fall of the Empire
Chapter 21: Conclusion and General Summary


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

As dry as it is informative

Certainly, the language used made it difficult at times to listen and decipher what was being said.
That being said, a more compete history of the Holy Roman Empire shall not be found, I think
Read full review


Downgrade for style

Although I have a great interest in the subject matter and believe that there is much good content here, I found the pedantic writing style and the matching reading more than a little off putting.

As an audiobook, it just doesn't work.
Read full review

- Walawalan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-06-2017
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur