The Gulag Archipelago, Volume II

  • by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
  • Narrated by Frederick Davidson
  • 27 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This second volume in Solzhenitsyn’s narrative chronicles the appalling inhumanity of the Soviets' "Destructive-Labor Camps" and the fate of prisoners in them—felling timber, building canals and railroads, and mining gold without equipment or adequate food or clothing, and subject always to the caprices of the camp authorities. Most tragic of all is the life of the women prisoners and the luckless children they bear.
Once again, this chronicle of appalling inhumanity is made endurable by the vitality and emotional range of the writing. In one truly remarkable chapter, a parody of an anthropological treatise, Solzhenitsyn achieves new heights of sardonic wit. And in the final section, the music changes and he provides a magnificent coda on the possibilities of redemption and purification through suffering.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


A superb work and a superb performance! Solzhenitsyn's storytelling and intimate writing style is mesmerizing. Davidson's reading makes you feel like you're listening to the author himself.
Read full review

- Big Bob Daddy

Important book, great author, wonderful narrator

Frederick Davidson is the perfect narrator for Solzhenitzyn's ironic, wry authorial style. That authorial style is what makes this otherwise unbearable book manageable. It's a hard book to read/listen because the ugliness of mankind is on full display. It's made even more difficult by the fact that Solzhenitsyn makes sure we recognize this work not only as a window to see the evil of others, but also a mirror that reflects back the evil that dwells in each of our hearts. For this reason, everyone needs to read this book
Read full review

- Jacob Denhollander

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-30-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.