The Children of Willesden Lane

  • by Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
  • Narrated by Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
  • 8 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Based on the true story of her mother, Mona Golabek describes the inspirational story of Lisa Jura Golabek's escape from Nazi-controlled Austria to England on the famed Kindertransport.
Jewish musical prodigy Lisa Jura has a wonderful life in Vienna. But when the Nazis start closing in on the city, life changes irreversibly. Although he has three daughters, Lisa's father is able to secure only one berth on the Kindertransport. The family decides to send Lisa to London, so she may pursue her dreams of a career as a concert pianist.
Separated from her beloved family, Lisa bravely endures the trip and a disastrous posting outside London before finding her way to the Willesden Lane Orphanage. It is in this orphanage that Lisa's story truly comes to life. Her music inspires the other orphanage children, and they, in turn, cheer her on in her efforts to make good on her promise to her family to realize her musical potential.
Through hard work and sheer pluck, Lisa wins a scholarship to study piano at the Royal Academy. As she supports herself and studies, she makes a new life for herself and dreams of reconnecting with the family she was forced to leave behind. The resulting tale delivers a message of the power of music to uplift the human spirit and to grant the individual soul endurance, patience, and peace.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Amazing Performance

This is not just a beautifully told story but a performance you will never forget.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A Beautiful Memoir

I really loved this memoir! It was well written,and had a great narrator. It was a very touching story about a Jewish girl rescued from the Nazis in Austria. She was one of the more than 10,000 children of the Kinder transport in 1939. The book told of her courageous journey to become a concert pianist in London. Memorable Characters and a real historical feel for the Blitz and
WW2 England. The addition of the sound effects and the insertion of the classical key points really enhanced my listening experience. It would make a WONDERFUL movie!
Read full review

- sharon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-15-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio