Terrorism on American Soil

  • by Joseph T. McCann
  • Narrated by Joseph T. McCann
  • 11 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, led most American citizens to feel that we are no longer safe and secure in our communities. However, terrorism is not a new phenomenon in the United States. This book chronicles 37 such assaults on American soil from the end of the Civil War to the present day. Not only are the most infamous attacks discussed; events that are obscure and relatively unknown - but fascinating nonetheless - are detailed as well.
These accounts illustrate important lessons about the changing nature of terrorism; methods for coping with the threat; and the psychological, political, and legal principles that help us understand the issues involved.
Not a technical or scholarly treatise, Terrorism on American Soil deals with this provocative subject in a highly readable style, using a narrative case-study format that has been successful in the popular true-crime genre. The author provides details of the perpetrators, their motives, and the social and political context in which each event took place, and offers a new perspective on some of the attacks.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Solid Information - Poor Audio

I endured the poor sound to the end because the information presented was of such good quality. McCann brought together facts that I have been unable to find in one source. He presents good quality analysis that leads to clear understanding. I recommend the book for those with more than a casual interest in the subject. ...In spite of the audio.
Read full review

- Kent

Excellent book, sub-par narration

The author as narrator manages to turn an interesting book into a rather dull-sounding lecture.

It would only have taken a professional narrator to turn this into a 5 star rating. In its present state I'd give it a marginal "recommend" rating.

Read full review

- E. Anderson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-20-2009
  • Publisher: Wetware Media, LLC