Mary Boleyn

  • by Alison Weir
  • Narrated by Maggie Mash
  • 13 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mary Boleyn was the mistress of two kings, Francois I of France and Henry VIII of England, and sister to Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII’s second wife. In this astonishing and riveting biography, Alison Weir’s extensive research gives a new and detailed portrayal, in which she recounts that, contrary to popular belief, Mary was entirely undeserving of her posthumous notoriety as a great whore.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Historiography not a bio

If you don't know what a Historiography is, you're probably not going to like this work. This is not really a story, but an analysis of past bios and surviving documentation. If real history interests you and how historians and time interprets people then this is for you. If you want a seamless romantic story, historical fiction is what you should read.
Read full review

- Mary Elizabeth Reynolds

This is a BIOGRAPHY, not a novel.

If you could sum up Mary Boleyn in three words, what would they be?

Phenomenal, riveting, and accurate

Any additional comments?

I adore Alison Weir's biographies. She does painstaking first hand research from primary sources and is unfailingly accurate in her representations of historical figures. This biography exposes a lot of fallacies passed along as fact for generations by less committed biographers. Weir tackles the problems of incomplete, damaged, and decayed records with aplomb and should be commended for refusing to pass along the information far easier to find in secondary and tertiary sources and instead doing her own research to obtain new and more accurate conclusions. Weir is a phenomenal biographer and a talented writer. The narrator, Maggie Mash, does a lovely job of making the figures come alive and I will be looking at more of her books in the future. I sincerely enjoyed this book and look forward to more of Alison Weir's fiction and nonfiction.

Read full review

- Carey

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-14-2011
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks