Lives of the Twelve Caesars

  • by Suetonius
  • Narrated by Derek Jacobi
  • 7 hrs and 13 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Suetonius wrote his Lives of the Twelve Caesars in the reign of Vespasian around 70AD. He chronicled the extraordinary careers of Julius, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Vespasian, and Domitian and the rest in technicolour terms. They presented some high and low times at the heart of the Roman Empire. The accounts provide us with perspicacious insights into the men as much as their reigns, and it was from Suetoniaus that subsequent writers such as Robert Graves drew so much of their material.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Translation doubts

Jacobi reads beautifully (he played Claudius, one of the Caesars in question), but Naxos, the publisher, seems strangely coy about the translator--not even in its catalog does it reveal whose English version Jacobi is reading. It's certainly not the celebrated Robert Graves translation (for that go to the Audio Connoisseurs edition) but a far looser one, and, of course, heavily abridged. Information about the translator would seem a basic courtesy to the buyer. This buyer, at least, is disappointed by the lack of it.
Read full review

- Elizabeth


It felt like I was a contemporary roman listening to a wise and educated man tell the stories of the Caesars.
Read full review

- Trent Infield

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-12-2005
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks