Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When asked to name the world’s first major nuclear accident, most people cite the Three Mile Island incident or the Chernobyl disaster. Revealed in this book is one of American history’s best-kept secrets: the world’s first nuclear reactor accident to claim fatalities happened on United States soil. Chronicled here for the first time is the strange tale of SL-1, a military test reactor located in Idaho’s Lost River Desert that exploded on the night of January 3, 1961, killing the three-man maintenance crew on duty.
Through details uncovered in official documents, firsthand accounts from rescue workers and nuclear industry insiders, and exclusive interviews with the victims’ families and friends, this book probes intriguing questions about the devastating blast that have remained unanswered for more than 40 years. From reports of a faulty reactor design and mismanagement of the reactor’s facilities to rumors of incompetent personnel and a failed love affair that prompted deliberate sabotage of the plant, these plausible explanations for the explosion raise questions about whether the truth was deliberately suppressed to protect the nuclear energy industry.
©2003 William Thomas McKeown (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By paulb on 08-20-15

Nuclear noocyuler

What an interesting incident. Did SL-1 have a flaw so bad it took 3 lives, or was it suicide? The world will probably never know for certain.

Totally spellbinding from beginning to end.

Then narrator, though, could not decide between saying "nuclear" and noocyuler, sometimes in the same paragraph. I found it very annoying to hear from an otherwise we'll-suited voice.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

By Keith on 03-04-15

Well Balanced

This book is well balanced. The book illustrates all sides of the events that occurred. Though, the bottom line is: we'll never know what happened on the evening of Jan 03 1961. Good read!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Amazon Customer on 03-18-15

Well written

Well written in print media format. Check a narration sample first as the style maynot suit everyones taste.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc