Farewell the Trumpets

  • by Jan Morris
  • Narrated by Roy McMillan
  • 7 hrs and 30 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Pax Britannica trilogy is Jan Morris’ magnificent history of the British Empire from 1837 to 1965. It is an extraordinary achievement, as entertaining as it is informative, and as vivid and immediate as it is huge in scope and ambition. This final volume charts the decline and dissolution of what was once the largest empire the world had known.
From the first signs of decay in the imperial ambition in the Boer Wars, through the global shifts in power evident in the two World Wars, it offers a perspective that is honest, evocative, and occasionally elegiac.


Audible Editor Reviews

Tracing the decline and fall of the British Empire, Jan Morris’ beloved volume of history, Farewell the Trumpets: An Imperial Retreat, the third volume in the Pax Britannica series, is every bit as entertaining as the first two. Roy McMillan’s vivid performance opens this definitive popular history up and expands its accessibility yet further. His intelligent, thoughtful voice allows the listener to sit back and enjoy the ride from a new imperialist fervor at the close of the 19th century to the death of Winston Churchill, signaling the true end of British Imperialism.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2012
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks