Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Enemies is the first definitive history of the FBI’s secret intelligence operations, from an author whose work on the Pentagon and the CIA won him the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award.
We think of the FBI as America’s police force. But secret intelligence is the Bureau’s first and foremost mission. Enemies is the story of how presidents have used the FBI as the most formidable intelligence force in American history.
Here is the hidden history of America’s hundred-year war on terror. The FBI has fought against terrorists, spies, anyone it deemed subversive—and sometimes American presidents. The FBI’s secret intelligence and surveillance techniques have created a tug-of-war between protecting national security and infringing upon civil liberties. It is a tension that strains the very fabric of a free republic.
©2012 Tim Weiner (P)2012 Random House
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

" Enemies is a research masterpiece. Picking through seventy thousand newly declassified documents and using on-the-record interviews, Weiner reveals startling new truths and debunks nagging old myths about the FBI. Enemies reads like a thriller, but don’t let the heart-pumping prose fool you. Weiner has written a scholarly tour de force that will be an instant classic for any serious student of American national security." (Amy B. Zegart, Ph.D., Associate Professor, UCLA School of Public Affairs, author of Spying Blind)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By CMcK on 08-06-12

Important gripping history read perfectly

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

If you liked LEGACY OF ASHES you'll like this too. Unbelievable insights on the FBI, Hoover, and the never ending tug of war between liberty and safety.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Steven W. Bremner on 04-05-15

The sordid truth

Though Weiner is easier on the FBI than he was on the CIA in Legacy of Ashes, make no mistake, this is an unabashed indictment of the FBI. He makes pains to present a balanced history, letting the facts speak for themselves. Hoover's legacy is a wasteland.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc