Regular price: $19.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When Hitler declared war on the United States, he bet that the young men brought up in the Hitler Youth would outfight the youngsters brought up in the Boy Scouts. Now, in this magnificent retelling of the war's most climactic battle, acclaimed Eisenhower biographer and World War II historian Stephen E. Ambrose tells how wrong Hitler was. Drawing on hundreds of oral histories as well as never-before-available information from around the world, Ambrose tells the true story of how the Allies broke through Hitler's Atlantic Wall, revealing that the intricate plan for the invasion had to be abandoned before the first shot was fired. Focusing on the 24 hours of June 6, 1944 - D-Day brings to life the stories of the men and women who made history - from top Allied and Axis strategic commanders to the citizen soldiers whose heroic initiative saved the day.
©1994 Stephen E. Ambrose, All Rights Reserved; (P)1994 Simon & Schuster Audio, All Rights Reserved, AUDIOWORKS Is an Imprint of Simon & Schuster Audio Division, Simon & Schuster Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By TomD on 05-10-03

Great Lead into Band of Brothers

If you plan to listen to Band of Brothers by Stephen Ambrose, then i recommend listening to D-Day first. The reason for this is because D-Day is a good overview of the build up and execution of Overlord from a leadership perspective (on both the American and German sides, but mostly American). After listening to this book, you will have a good feel for what the plan is and how it was executed. Then, when listening to one story about a specific group of men, as with Band of Brothers, it will be easier to follow having already listened to D-Day. At least, it was for me. Also, I like Ambrose's 'GI accent', it adds to the atmosphere of the book.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

By James on 03-04-05


Stephen Ambrose is the man! Nobody can tell a story like he does. The author does a great job bringing these events to life in a way that makes you feel as if you were there. I'm still amazed at the heroics our boys had in Normandy!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Michael on 08-25-12

a MUST 'read' if you're visiting Normandy

We listened to this on our trip to the D-Day sights of Normandy this summer and it made the trip really come alive. There is a small amount of swearing and my 10 year old probably only caught snippits, but it really makes you want to visit the sites, like Pegasus Bridge and Point-le-Hoc, armed with a powerful sense of what happened there. Stephen Ambrose makes a fantastic tour-guide!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc