Regular price: $3.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $3.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This unique audiobook introduces the listeners to the seven Cherokee clans, found in no other American Indian tribe. They are Wolf (Ani-Wahiya), Bird (Ani-Tsiskwa), Deer (Ani-Kawi), Twister (Ani-Gilohi), Wild Potato (Ani-Gotegewi), Panther (Ani-Sahoni) and Paint (Ani-Wodi). In each section of notes appear the etymology of the Cherokee name, synonyms and related clans, the clan's in-born strengths and character, mitochondrial DNA types, symbols and iconography, famous people, ceremonies, art and monuments. This solidly documented, down-to-earth guide is the first and last word on an ancient matriarchal kinship system that began in the dawn of human history and lives on in contemporary times.
©2013 Donald N. Panther-Yates (P)2013 Donald N. Panther-Yates
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Kindle Customer Raven on 02-08-18

nice introductory information.

Nice short, but informative look at the 7 main Cherokee Clans. Details each clan, including well known members

Read More Hide me

By DJ on 03-27-14

Cherokee Rose and Black Fox

Donald Yates forebear was Attakullakulla and Chief Black Fox. Nancy Ward was Known as Cherokee Rose. There is a statue of her that was stolen where she is holding an animal, he finds is the Black Fox. The Statue has since been found, and you can read more about that in the Old Souls in a New World :The Secret History of the Cherokee Indians also by Donald N. Yates. In the print version of this book there is a picture of the statue. You will hear about Nancy Ward’s Wolf Clan Family as well as the Cherokee Migration story.

Rich Crankshaw delivers a smooth, pleasant reading of the Book. It is only 39 minutes long a great book for a short trip in the car or a bedtime story for children. I like the audible version because you can learn the correct pronunciation of the Cherokee words and sounds.

Yates outlines from his notes he has received from some tribal Elders the traits of the 7 clans and mentions some of the lesser known clans. Also he writes of the Story of the Sacred Dog about how the Cherokee came to America after a great flood and why they reside in the Mountains of Appalachia to this day. You will enjoy the short Clan History as I did.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc