• Caligula: Life of a Roman Emperor

  • By: Suetonius
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Waite
  • Length: 1 hr and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 02-25-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Astorg Audio
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.3 (4 ratings)

Regular price: $10.05

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.05

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Suetonius' most important surviving work is known as the De Vita Caesarum, a set of twelve biographies of the successive Roman rulers.

The emperor Caligula was one of the strangest and cruelest rulers that ever lived, and most of what is known about his reign comes from Suetonius. The first six months of his reign appear to have been moderate and successful; but after that, he fell into a spiral of sadism, sexual perversity, and plain insanity that made him one of the most hated tyrants of all time.
His biography gathers many extravagant anecdotes, from naming his horse consul to calling people to his palace in the middle of the night just to play a strange game of fright with them. He was eventually assassinated, but not before many strange omens predicted the event, according to Suetonius.
©2016 Compagnie du Savoir (P)2016 Compagnie du Savoir
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 11-30-17

Short, fast, and jam packed

I love the fact that this book tells you what other sources seem to leave out in the name of some kind of misplaced historical modesty. Jam packed with information on the making, atrocities, personage, and subsequent downfall, it makes a great companion piece to I, Claudius (which is amazing).
The timeline is a little scattered, but that’s not much of a complaint more than an observation. Where this book shines is in the gory details.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Customer on 11-02-16

pretty good

Thought it was quite insightful. Excellent narrator. Kept my attention and historically interesting compared to the book I CLAUDIUS.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Ffwrnais on 04-30-17

A Disappointing Reading

An interesting story but unfortunately ruined by an unusually poor reading. There were so many mispronunciations you start listening out for these rather than following the text. The voice and tone were ok but I don't think the reader had any feel for the narrative and hadn't bothered to practice reading the book. There was also the occasional gasp of breath which should have been edited out. This is not Audible's finest and I'd suggest potential readers try an alternative version.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc