Black Gun, Silver Star: The Life and Legend of Frontier Marshal Bass Reeves

  • by Art T. Burton
  • Narrated by Ron Butler
  • 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Deputy US Marshal Bass Reeves appears as one of "eight notable Oklahomans", the "most feared US marshal in the Indian country". That Reeves was also an African American who had spent his early life as a slave in Arkansas and Texas makes his accomplishments all the more remarkable. Bucking the odds ("I'm sorry, we didn't keep black people's history," a clerk at one of Oklahoma's local historical societies answered a query), Art T. Burton sifts through fact and legend to discover the truth about one of the most outstanding peace officers in late 19th-century America - and perhaps the greatest lawman of the Wild West era. Fluent in Creek and other Southern native languages, physically powerful, skilled with firearms, and a master of disguise, Reeves was exceptionally adept at apprehending fugitives and outlaws, and his exploits were legendary in Oklahoma and Arkansas.
A finalist for the 2007 Spur Award, sponsored by the Western Writers of America, Black Gun, Silver Star tells Bass Reeves' story for the first time and restores this remarkable figure to his rightful place in the history of the American West.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

inspiring story and insightful

The performance was great in that it immerses you in the story. Sometimes get lost with the
list of names, but the audible book was a great inspiring listen. It really gets the metal movie going. The book gets one thinking about all the American History that isn't taught.
Read full review

- Derrick

Live the Legend

What made the experience of listening to Black Gun, Silver Star: The Life and Legend of Frontier Marshal Bass Reeves the most enjoyable?

A.T. Burton w/Ron Butler narration is a good combination. I was raised in the Oklahoma region where much of Marshall Reeves lived and worked. Knowing what transpired all those years ago in Ft. Smith and eastern Oklahoma fascinated me throughout to book.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Black Gun, Silver Star: The Life and Legend of Frontier Marshal Bass Reeves?

The Marshall's ability to stay alive.

Did Ron Butler do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

The characters were well defined as to their actions and identifications

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No because it went like reading a police blotter

Any additional comments?

I liked the book.

Read full review

- Michael L. Wintory "cadcts"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-23-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio