Baseball in '41

  • by Robert W. Creamer
  • Narrated by Tom Parker
  • 8 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It was the year that Joe DiMaggio set his 56-game hitting streak, that Ted Williams batted .406, that the Dodgers and the Yankees battled each other in a classic World Series, and that America went to war. In this look at what he calls "the best baseball season ever", Robert Creamer skillfully intertwines all these epochal baseball happenings with an informal history of a pivotal period in American life, as well as with his own memories of what it was like to be 18 and a baseball fan when a looming war and the game he loved vied for his attention. For all who love baseball, Baseball in '41 makes it clear why the game is still the purest representation of the American Dream.


What the Critics Say

"This is a baseball book, but whether Creamer intended it or not, it's much, much more." (Sports Illustrated)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-14-2005
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.