American Coup

  • by William M. Arkin
  • Narrated by William M. Arkin
  • 8 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A stunning exploration of the subtle erosion of freedom in an age of concocted fear and de facto military authority.
When we think of a military coup, the first image that comes to mind is a general, standing at a podium with a flag behind him, declaring the deposing of elected leaders and the institution of martial law.
Think again.
In American Coup, William Arkin reveals the desk-bound takeover of the highest reaches of government by a coterie of "grey men" of the national security establishment. Operating between the lines of the Constitution this powerful and unelected group fights to save the nation from "terror" and weapons of mass destruction while at the same time modifying and undermining the very essence of the country. Many books are written about secrecy, surveillance, and government law-breaking; none so powerfully expose the truth of everyday life in this state of war.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

maybe, the narrator is a drag, every fifteenth sentence ends with a drop off cadence where-as I can not understand the last word. The post production edits SUCK. Jeesh, I could do better. It's like he read it at one place and somebody else did the vox edits on a old-school panasonic cassette recorder. If you listen to it with ear buds be prepared to jump at least a dozen times when the level and timber changes.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

sure, not much I wouldn't expect. At least it's not doom-and-gloom

What didn’t you like about William M. Arkin’s performance?

everything. Get someone else to read your stuff, and get someone else to record it.

Do you think American Coup needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

nah, it's just more business as usual for the big G

Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio