• by William J. Bennett
  • Narrated by Jon Gauger
  • 20 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The second volume of Bennett's overview of U.S. history begins with the events leading up to WWI, tracing the progress of the U.S. through the end of Reagan's presidency. Bennett has a long history of government service - he was Secretary of Education under Ronald Reagan and Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy under George H.W. Bush - and the overall tone of the book reflects the deep respect he holds for America's leaders, history and institutions. Bennett is a leading figure in the neoconservative movement, so his interpretation of America's last 90 years is informed by that perspective. But while he wears both his patriotism and politics on his sleeve, Bennett avoids flag-waving or talk-radio-style generalizations. This is a breezy, heartfelt survey, written with the average listener in mind, that will appeal broadly to those looking for an America-friendly introduction to 20th century U.S. history.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

America The Last Best Hope Vol II

This was the Second book that I selected from my Audible membership and it too was well worth the investment. I recommend the book as part of a full home schooling agenda. It is a great history resource as part of the whole set. Dr. William J. Bennett knows how to put together a complete and true picture of our American History. This book picks up from World War I up to the end of the Reagan years.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Balanced History

Dr. Bennett's second installment of his history of the USA continues as a balanced, fair treatment of our country. He ties in global events when necessary to understand the context of events in the US, but his focus is on the greatness of our nation and its special place in human history. He treats minor historical events as what they are -- minor -- and gives world changing events their due.
Read full review

- M. Brearcliffe

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-23-2009
  • Publisher: Oasis Audio