Alistair Cooke: The Essential Letters from America: 2000 - 2004

  • by Alistair Cooke
  • Narrated by Alistair Cooke
  • 4 hrs and 40 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

This is the final volume of the definitive decade-by-decade collection of Alistair Cooke’s Letters from America – the seminal and longest running personal commentary on the radio.
This release focuses on the turbulent times in the US of the 2000s, and the history of the decade is explored through Alistair Cooke’s unique broadcasts. The 16 letters include Running Mates and Carpet Baggers, The Day of Judgment and Paralysis by Analysis – all centred upon the famously indecisive Presidential election of 2000 between George W Bush and Al Gore. The Origin of the Continental Blow-out, America’s Day of Terror and America on Standby are all focussed upon the 9/11 attacks on the Twin Towers. In a lighter vein, Messiah at Christmas talks about Handel’s Messiah and his memories of hearing it performed during his Lancashire childhood.
And Alistair Cooke’s final Letter From America, broadcast on 20th February 2004, reflects on President Bush’ difficulties as the situation in Iraq unravelled.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-04-2010
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited