A Survey of the Middle Ages: A.D. 500 - 1270

  • by John Pruskin
  • Narrated by John Pruskin
  • 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this audiobook, John Pruskin takes us from the fall of the Roman Empire to the cusp of the Italian Renaissance. You have a ringside seat as the remnants of the Roman Empire emerge from the tangled chaos of the barbarian conquests.
The Eastern Empire becomes Byzantine, Mohammedanism transforms culture in large parts of the West; Europe expands through the Crusades; marauding Vikings settle down in their permanent dwelling places; and feudal society takes definite shape. Meet the popes, peasants, lords, and ladies of the Middle Ages.
This book also includes a special one-hour lecture, "Music of the Middle Ages".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Mostly not great

I've listened to most of the books Audible has to offer covering the Middle Ages. This particular book is unique. It is structured into almost 400 segments that resemble grandiose captions rather than chapters. Each chapter is preceded by a sound effect that would be more comfortable in a Dr Who episode, circa 1974. The author and narrator speaks in a rigid and clipped fashion. He has a penchant for strange and unique pronunciations of certain words that I would describe as bizarre. His description of certain figures stands in direct opposition to commonly held opinion without any substantiation.

The net result is best described as uncomfortable.
Read full review

- Tex E.

Worst narration I've experienced from Audible

Would you try another book from John Pruskin and/or John Pruskin?

I might buy another of his books, but not if he narrates it.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

The ending was so abrupt I was certain there had to be another part to come. But there wasn't.

What didn’t you like about John Pruskin’s performance?

The narration was stilted and robotic, almost unbearable to listen to.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The subject matter was treated superficially, but adequately for an overview of the years discussed.

Any additional comments?

What was the deal with that ending? What a puzzle.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-20-2011
  • Publisher: Trout Lake Media