A Rainbow in the Night

  • by Dominique Lapierre
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki
  • 8 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1652 a small group of Dutch farmers landed on the southernmost tip of Africa. Sent by the powerful Dutch India Company, their mission was simply to grow vegetables and supply ships rounding the cape. The colonists, however, were convinced by their strict Calvinist faith that they were among God's "Elect", chosen to rule over the continent. Their saga - bloody, ferocious, and fervent - would culminate three centuries later in one of the greatest tragedies of history: the establishment of a racist regime in which a white minority would subjugate and victimize millions of blacks. Called apartheid, it was a poisonous system that would only end with the liberation from prison of one of the moral giants of our time, Nelson Mandela.A Rainbow in the Night is Dominique Lapierre's epic account of South Africa's tragic history and the heroic men and women - famous and obscure, white and black, European and African - who have, with their blood and tears, brought to life the country that is today known as the Rainbow Nation.


What the Critics Say

"Dominique Lapierre raises the curtain on the history of South Africa. Three and a half centuries...a sublime epic full of terrible dramas." (Le Point magazine, France)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Must read (listen)

Excellent audio quality. Superb narration. This book is a gripping account of the history of S. Africa culminating in the election of Nelson Mandela. Lapierre always does a great job of bringing history to life.
Read full review

- A

Informative, gripping, incredible

Absolutely loved this audiobook. After listening to Mandela's autobiography, I was curious to know more and so wanted a concise overview of the history of South Africa from the beginning. This book was 110% what I was looking for. Reads like a novel. Can't recommend it enough.
Read full review

- Gregory E Benoit

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-02-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.