A Great Place to Have a War

  • by Joshua Kurlantzick
  • Narrated by Tim Campbell
  • 9 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1960 President Eisenhower was focused on Laos, a tiny Southeast Asian nation few Americans had ever heard of. Washington feared the country would fall to Communism, triggering a domino effect in the rest of Southeast Asia. So in January 1961, Eisenhower approved the CIA's Operation Momentum, a plan to create a proxy army of ethnic Hmong to fight Communist forces in Laos. While remaining largely hidden from the American public and most of Congress, Momentum became the largest CIA paramilitary operation in the history of the United States. The brutal war, which continued under Presidents Kennedy and Nixon, lasted nearly two decades, killed one-tenth of Laos' total population, left thousands of unexploded bombs in the ground, and changed the nature of the CIA forever.
Joshua Kurlantzick gives us the definitive account of the Laos war and its central characters, including the four key people who led the operation - the CIA operative who came up with the idea, the Hmong general who led the proxy army in the field, the paramilitary specialist who trained the Hmong, and the State Department careerist who took control over the war as it grew.


What the Critics Say

"Superb!... A Great Place to Have a War is rich and jarring in its historical insight, fast in its pacing, and gripping in its read. You won't want to put it down." (Douglas Waller, author of Disciples: The World War II Missions of the CIA Directors Who Fought for Wild Bill Donovan)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great history with a great narrative

This is a great CIA history of a little known war. The narrator does a good job.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

well-written but some reviews on Amazon dispute it

well-written but some reviews on Amazon dispute its version...other accounts should be on audible.com too
Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-24-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio