Z-Risen 3: Poisoned Earth : Z-Risen

  • by Timothy W. Long
  • Narrated by Todd Menesses
  • Series: Z-Risen
  • 12 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Contains Z-Risen 3: Poisoned Earth and Z-Risen 4: Reavers
Machinist Mate First Class Jackson Creed and Marine Sergeant Joel "Cruze" Kelly have faced hordes of undead, rogue military units and a constant living nightmare as they try to navigate the apocalypse. Now they are close to their goal of reaching Los Angeles where they hope to learn the origin of the plague that has affected the US. Along the way, they've been harried by the shadow mercenary group known only as Bright Star, but that is all about to change.
Also contains the bonus short story "Night of the Living Old Farts".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Two Reluctant Reavers and a Dog

The Jackson Creed and Joel Kelly story continues with our intrepid heroes still fighting their way through the zombie apocalypse, as they head north towards the perceived oasis of Camp Pendleton, along the way they’ve formed a quasi-family unit with a few of the characters from the first two books, there’s Roz who has formed a close attachment with Joel, Anna, who likes/hates Jackson and may or may not still be attached to the mercenary group Bright Star, time will tell if Anna is friend or foe, Christy, a kick ass young girl who has stolen Jackson’s heart, he’ll do anything to keep that little girl safe, and Frosty the dog who knows when to keep his yap shut and when to take a bite out of enemies, human or zombie.

The undead has brought out the worst in human nature or to paraphrase Jackson, he’d rather deal with a horde of zombies than the dregs of society that seem to be thriving amid all the chaos. Soon two rogue military-like factions arise the Reavers and Bright Star, the ensuing battle between these two groups cause Jackson and Christy to becomes separated from the rest of the group, feeling abandoned and helpless without Kelly, Jackson has to keep it together for Christy’s sake and whether he believes it or not he has learned a lot from Kelly in the short time they were together, living in this dystopia has taught Jackson one thing, that he is a survivor and he’ll take whatever action is necessary to stay alive and that means aligning himself with the Reavers.

Todd Menesses continues his amazing performance as the narrator of this series. My husband, who never ever questions who or what I’m listening to, asked if only one narrator was voicing all the different characters, when I said yes he was impressed, that endorsement alone should get Mr. Menesses an Audie Award!

This audiobook was gifted to me exchange for an unbiased review!
Read full review

- Kindle Customer "I'm an audiobook blogger for authors and narrators. I do reviews and post all things Romance, Horror and Sci-Fi"

More intrigue, shades of gray

Although book one was better this one follows much the same style with more intrigue and revelations about the Bright Star military and the Reavers. I like that it wasn't all just black and white. I wouldn't mind if it was a bit darker; don't need jokes everywhere.

There is a bonus story at the end, and that narrator pulls off all kinds of voices. Incredibly talented voice master.

There was one part where they were flying around and then suddenly on the ground. I thought there was a page missing. I'm not sure.

I was a bit disappointed in the death of one character; didn't expect that to happen! I thought it could have been worked into the story more. All the same, this series is a must read.
Read full review

- Tilo "Zombies Books in order: 1. We're Alive 2. Day By Day Armageddon 3. Roads Less Traveled Series 4. Alaskan Undead Apocalypse 5. World War Z 6. The Walking Dead 7. Rise Again 8. As the World Dies 9. Zombie Fallout"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-22-2016
  • Publisher: Timothy W. Long