Young Men in Spats : Drones Club

  • by P. G. Wodehouse
  • Narrated by Jonathan Cecil
  • Series: Drones Club
  • 6 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author, whom the Times called "a comic genius" and "an old master of farce", are 11 further stories featuring such eccentric characters as Freddie Widgeon, Cyril (Barmy) Fotheringay Phipps, Percy Wimbolt, and Pongo. Young Men in Spats includes the following stories: "Fate", "Tried in the Furnace", "Trouble Down at Tudsleigh", "The Amazing Hat Mystery", "Good-bye to All Cats", "The Luck of the Stiffhams", "Noblesse Oblige", "Uncle Fred Flits By", "Archibald and the Masses", "The Code of the Mulliners", and "The Fiery Wooing of Mordred".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ha ha ha ha ha!

Game, Wodehouse style

For of course, when it comes to wooing, it's simply half the battle to get a line on the adored object's favorite literature. Ascertain what it is, and mug it up, and decant an excerpt or two in her presence, and before you can say 'what ho', she's looking at you like a kindred old soul and is all over you.

"Trouble Down at Tudsley" in _Young Men In Spats_ by PG Wodehouse
Read full review

- Molly Mog

Spats. Cats. Hats. This Book has Everything.

One of the outstanding collections of Wodehouse short stories. Eleven delightful tales, the best being "Noblesse Oblige", "Uncle Fred Flits By", "Archibald and the Masses", "Trouble Down at Tudsleigh" and "Tried in the Furnace", with everything else running a close second.

"Good-Bye to All Cats" contains what is possibly the funniest description of a character in all of Wodehouse: "She was like a chunk of ice cream with spikes all over it".

I've always thought that the last story, "The Fiery Wooing of Mordred" was a shade off the Master's usual high standards, but I've come to realize that feeling is merely due to the fact that it's the last story--and I know that I'll have to go back to Real Life again once it's over.

Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2012
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.