World of Wonders : Deptford Trilogy

  • by Robertson Davies
  • Narrated by Marc Vietor
  • Series: Deptford Trilogy
  • 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hailed by the Washington Post Book World as a "modern classic", Robertson Davies' acclaimed Deptford Trilogy is a glittering, fantastical, cunningly contrived series of novels, around which a mysterious death is woven.
World of Wonders, the third book in the series after The Manticore, follows the story of Magnus Eisengrim - the most illustrious magician of his age - who is spirited away from his home by a member of a traveling sideshow, the Wanless World of Wonders. After honing his skills and becoming better known, Magnus unfurls his life's courageous and adventurous tale in this third and final volume of a spectacular, soaring work.


What the Critics Say

"One of the splendid literary enterprises of this decade." (Newsweek)
"Robertson Davies is one of the great modern novelists." (Malcolm Bradbury, The Sunday Times, London)
"Robertson Davies is a novelist whose books are thick and rich with humor, character and incident. They are plotted with skill and much flamboyance." (The Observer)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great North American Novel

I'm convinced, after this trilogy, that everyone after Twain trying to write a wistful, picaresque Bildungsroman and call it the Great American Novel, has actually written the Great Canadian Novel.
Read full review

- Sarah R. Jacobs

Don't Miss Thos Book

Brilliant end of the Deptford trilogy engrossing fiction so well narrated.
Read all three for a magical adventure tinto the human soul.
Read full review

- Sydney Wolf

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios