Why Can't I Be You

  • by Allie Larkin
  • Narrated by Julia Whelan
  • 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At one time or another, everyone has wished they could be someone else. Exploring this universal longing, Allie Larkin follows up the success of her debut novel, Stay, with a moving portrait of friendship and identity.
When Jenny Shaw hears someone shout "Jessie!" across a hotel lobby, she impulsively answers. All her life, Jenny has toed the line, but something propels her to seize the opportunity to become Jessie Morgan, a woman to whom she bears an uncanny resemblance. Lonely in her own life, Jenny is embraced by Jessie’s warm circle of friends - and finds unexpected romance. But when she delves into Jessie’s past, Jenny discovers a secret that spurs her to take another leap into the unknown.


What the Critics Say

"Allie Larkin’s latest explores an intriguing question: What if you could shed your own life, and step into someone else’s? Why Can’t I Be You is a thoughtful and compulsively readable examination of identity, friendship, and trust - and what happens when all three spectacularly collide." (Sarah Pekkanen, author of These Girls)
"Brilliant... It’s not until we’ve let go of who we think we should be that we can discover who we actually are." (Amy Hatvany, author of Outside the Lines)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Juvenile at best.

This story is suited to, perhaps, middle school girls. The main and supporting characters had the maturity and emotional levels of young teens, not the 20-something professionals they purported to be. I found it very annoying.
Read full review

- Jeff


Chick lit regarding mistaken identity. I usually read thrillers and wanted something lighter as a break. But the charade of our heroine successfully passing as someone else not only wears thin but strains credibility. Also, there just wasn't enough at stake to keep me interested.
Read full review

- Hilary "I heart audiobooks! Best way to "read"!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-21-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio