Who Killed Little Johnny Gill?

  • by Kathryn McMaster
  • Narrated by Sam Warren
  • 5 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

He's just seven years old. He's your son. You wave goodbye to him one morning as he disappears into the swirling fog. And then he is gone. Forever.
This gripping historical crime fiction novel, based on fact, is set in Bradford, England, 1888. It explores the horrific murder of Johnny Gill; a murder and mutilation so gruesome, it stuns a nation. Even hardened detectives are affected by its savagery, swiftly comparing it to the work of Jack the Ripper.
Who Killed Little Johnny Gill? is Kathryn McMaster's debut novel. It is a noir pause-resister that immediately immerses you in a maelstrom of emotions, keeping you in suspense as Chief Detective Constable Withers and his dedicated team of British detectives try and gather sufficient evidence to bring a conviction against their suspect.
In 1888, police procedures and knowledge of Forensic Science are rudimentary and juries are exposed to persuasive newspaper reports and public opinion. Will justice prevail, or will the guilty walk free?
This is one crime fiction novel you won't be able to put down until the last word!


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


So much more than a dry reciting of historical facts, this true story grabs the listener and just won't let go. It is intelligent, chock full of historical truisms drawn from paper sources of 1888/89. Do not turn off the audio at what seems to be the end of the drama. Be sure to listen to the author in his afterward. This audio won my full vote of 5- all.
Read full review

- Donna Seidel

An immersive, atmospheric Victorian crime novel

A terrific thriller built around a true crime (and not for the faint-hearted!). The great writing and language style makes it a pleasure to listen, and takes you along to a time and place (Victorian England) and keeps you hooked.
Highly recommended.
Read full review

- nota bene

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2016
  • Publisher: Author's Republic