Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth.
One of the most haunting mysteries in American history - The Lost Colony of Roanoke - comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters, including Maggie Hagger, indentured Irish serving girl, a victim of rape and intimidation; Manteo, Croatoan interpreter for the English, inhabitant of two worlds, belonging to neither; John White, ineffective Governor, painter, dreamer, father and grandfather; Captain Stafford, brave and disciplined, but cruel soldier; and Powhatan, shrewd Tidewater warlord who wages a stealthy war against the colonists.
©2009 Paul Clayton (P)2013 Paul Clayton
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Ellenaeddy on 03-25-15

An interesting piece of history

This is not brilliant writing but it's a good story and told well enough. The questions of what happened in Roanoke has always fascinated me. of course it's speculative, but it's interesting.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Terry D on 07-15-13

Can't get past the narration

The mystery of Roanoke is fascinating and I was excited when I saw the description of this book.

Not sure if it is a good book or not. I simply can not get past the narration! It is read with all the inflection and drama you might hear at the library any Saturday morning when it is story time for the kiddies. Irritating. The frequent mispronunciation of common words is jarring. I'm 8 hours into it, ashamed that I have wasted this much time and giving it up.

If you really want to explore this - get the paper book, not this audible.

Read More Hide me

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc