White Seed

  • by Paul Clayton
  • Narrated by Lee Harpster
  • 18 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A fully-realized historical thriller in the tradition of James Clavell's Shogun and Ken Follett's The Pillars of the Earth.
One of the most haunting mysteries in American history - The Lost Colony of Roanoke - comes roaring back to life in White Seed, with a compelling cast of characters, including Maggie Hagger, indentured Irish serving girl, a victim of rape and intimidation; Manteo, Croatoan interpreter for the English, inhabitant of two worlds, belonging to neither; John White, ineffective Governor, painter, dreamer, father and grandfather; Captain Stafford, brave and disciplined, but cruel soldier; and Powhatan, shrewd Tidewater warlord who wages a stealthy war against the colonists.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An interesting piece of history

This is not brilliant writing but it's a good story and told well enough. The questions of what happened in Roanoke has always fascinated me. of course it's speculative, but it's interesting.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Can't get past the narration

The mystery of Roanoke is fascinating and I was excited when I saw the description of this book.

Not sure if it is a good book or not. I simply can not get past the narration! It is read with all the inflection and drama you might hear at the library any Saturday morning when it is story time for the kiddies. Irritating. The frequent mispronunciation of common words is jarring. I'm 8 hours into it, ashamed that I have wasted this much time and giving it up.

If you really want to explore this - get the paper book, not this audible.
Read full review

- Terry D

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-21-2013
  • Publisher: Paul Clayton