Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One woman, an impossible dream, and the faith it took to see it through: German immigrant and farm wife Hulda Klager possesses only an eighth-grade education - and a burning desire to create something beautiful. What begins as a hobby to create an easy-peeling apple for her pies becomes Hulda’s driving purpose: a time-consuming interest in plant hybridization that puts her at odds with family and community, as she challenges the early-twentieth-century expectations for a simple housewife.
Through the years, seasonal floods continually threaten to erase her Woodland, Washington garden and a series of family tragedies cause even Hulda to question her focus. In a time of practicality, can one person’s simple gifts of beauty make a difference?
Based on the life of Hulda Klager, Where Lilacs Still Bloom is a story of triumph over an impossible dream and the power of a generous heart.
“Beauty matters…it does. God gave us flowers for a reason. Flowers remind us to put away fear, to stop our rushing and running and worrying about this and that, and for a moment, have a piece of paradise right here on earth.”
©2012 Jane Kirkpatrick (P)2012 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Dana Southwick on 10-01-16

Amazing Book!

This book touched my heart. I have been to Hulda Klagers home and gardens a few times as I live here in Washington and drive pass her home many times on my travels to Oregon and California. I have bought a couple Lilac Trees on these visits. I just so happened to come across this book by accident as I love historical novels. I was so surprised to see a book written about a place that I love to visit so much. I knew I had to listen to this book!!. It was fantastic! The narration was perfect. Hulda was an amazing woman. So strong. I wantvto know so much about her now. I highly reccomend this book for audible. Very, very good!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Shannon Adams on 02-14-17

Made me want to find that 12 petal Lilac!

I liked this book very much- truth rang in the chronicles of the tragedies and triumphs of real-person Hulda Klager- but when I tried to look up some of the breeds- especially the breed the author wrote was saved by seeds given away and returned after the last flood, they weren't available. Which takes some of the meaning out of the book. When you have to reassess a work and figure out what facts are true and what aren't- it is deflating. At least for me. I do not mind historical fiction that invents conversations The author could not have overheard, but when you are writing about a subject that continues to this day – as the Klager Lilac Days do- it would've been nice if the flower stories had remained intact.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc