When the Heart Cries : Sisters of the Quilt

  • by Cindy Woodsmall
  • Narrated by Jill Shellabarger
  • Series: Sisters of the Quilt
  • 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Despite being raised in a traditional Old Order Amish family, 17-year-old Hannah Lapp desires to break with custom, forgo baptism into the faith, and marry outside the cloistered community. She's been in love with Mennonite Paul Waddell for three years, and before returning to college for his senior year, Paul asks Hannah to be his wife. Hannah accepts, aware that her marriage will change her relationship with her family forever. On the evening of their engagement, tragedy strikes and in one unwelcome encounter, all that Hannah has known and believed is destroyed. As she finds herself entangled in questions that the Old Ways of her people cannot answer, Hannah faces the possibility of losing her place in her family, in her community - and in the heart of the man she loves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What a story.........

This was a great book. Several months ago I read an article in the Wall Street Journal, of all plaes, about 3 authors, W Brunstetter, B Lewis, and Ms Woodsmall, that had written books set in Amish country. Like most of us in Audible, I was looking for some books to read so I decided I would read one book from each. This is my 3rd of them, I enjoyed them all but this was by far my favorite. It started off with a bang and just kept going. It was set in Amich country and a lot of it was about the Amish but it was more a story of human nature. You couldn't help feel for Hanna. It brought tearrs to my eyes several times. A heart warming tale and I recommend to anyone reading this review to give it a try. I'll read more from all 3 authors but my next of the 3 will be this author, I want to see if she can top this one. Enjoy!!
Read full review

- Stevon

When the Heart Cries

Liked it very much so I had to get the next one.
Read full review

- Ellen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-15-2008
  • Publisher: Oasis Audio