Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....
©2002 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 03-01-16

Lots of Action

This is the third book in the series. Audible did not have book two available. The year is 44 AD during the Roman invasion of Britain. This is a historical military novel about two soldiers Macro and Cato of the Roman Second Legion.

A sudden storm strikes the Roman fleet bringing food, supplies, reinforcements and the wife, Lady Pomponia, and children of commanding General Plautus. The lead ship with Lady Pomponia aboard is driven off course before crashing against the rocks while attempting to beach the ship. The family is captured by the Druids. The Druids are attempting to exchange the General’s family for a number of captured Druids. Macro and Cato are sent to free the General’s family.

The book is well written and the plot is strong. Scarrow has some dramatic battle scenes along with lots of action. A major battle is fought at Camulodunum or what is modern day Colchester. The author also provides insight into the soldier’s life in the Roman Legion. Scarrow also provides some information about Celtic culture and religion as well as information about the Druids. I am not an expert about this time frame in history so cannot say how accurate Scarrow is in the historical information. I did note two items, first, he said the ships had slave chained to the oars. I know this is inaccurate as the Roman’s only had free men on the oars of ships. The second item he gives the impression the Druids are a tribe and the Celts are a tribe. It is my understanding that the Druids were the educated class of the Celtic peoples not a separate tribe of people. The book is easy to read and is a real page turner. David Thorpe does an excellent job narrating the book.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Netman on 02-08-18

Great narration, great book.

I wasn't so keen on the author when i started the series of books but he's grown on my and class him as one of my favourite narrators. I was sad to find he's not doing the subsequent books, so I doubt I will continue the series on Audible. The story itself is great though, so maybe i'll just buy the hardcopy.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 09-09-15

And here I'm stuck!

It's a real shame (at least at the time of writing). This is such a great series, extremely well narrated, I love the characters but there are unfortunately gaps after this in the series which even after a year or two show no sign of being filled on Audible.

I'm determined to listen to these in order so will just have to wait. These books are still definitely worth reading but check out the gaps in the series first so you know what the situation is.

Read More Hide me

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By jamie on 09-23-16

I love it

I absolutely adore this book and the eagle series as a whole. It's a complete tragedy they aren't all available through audible

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By mac on 07-18-18

Third in the series. Breath taking.

This author really has done well to have his stories follow through from book one to book three so well.

perfectly set up and delivered.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 04-16-18

Superb story and narrator

David Thorpe does an excellent job in all of his narrating in Eagles of the Empire. His character voices give the listener a visual image of the person. I look forward to more from him!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews