When the Eagle Hunts : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lots of Action

This is the third book in the series. Audible did not have book two available. The year is 44 AD during the Roman invasion of Britain. This is a historical military novel about two soldiers Macro and Cato of the Roman Second Legion.

A sudden storm strikes the Roman fleet bringing food, supplies, reinforcements and the wife, Lady Pomponia, and children of commanding General Plautus. The lead ship with Lady Pomponia aboard is driven off course before crashing against the rocks while attempting to beach the ship. The family is captured by the Druids. The Druids are attempting to exchange the General’s family for a number of captured Druids. Macro and Cato are sent to free the General’s family.

The book is well written and the plot is strong. Scarrow has some dramatic battle scenes along with lots of action. A major battle is fought at Camulodunum or what is modern day Colchester. The author also provides insight into the soldier’s life in the Roman Legion. Scarrow also provides some information about Celtic culture and religion as well as information about the Druids. I am not an expert about this time frame in history so cannot say how accurate Scarrow is in the historical information. I did note two items, first, he said the ships had slave chained to the oars. I know this is inaccurate as the Roman’s only had free men on the oars of ships. The second item he gives the impression the Druids are a tribe and the Celts are a tribe. It is my understanding that the Druids were the educated class of the Celtic peoples not a separate tribe of people. The book is easy to read and is a real page turner. David Thorpe does an excellent job narrating the book.

Read full review

- Jean

Nice historical fiction

Great reader
Consistent characters
Who are likable
Would recommend
Similar to Bernard Cornwall
With plenty of shield wall and squares
To fight in

Read full review

- keith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-24-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital